SO WE MEET AGAIN

They leave to live their own lives, and I do not always know where and how. Just like that, I met one of such prodigal pictures of mine the other evening – The Last Chalice. I painted this picture in 1994 when my dearest friend Eugenijus Varkulevičius (Augis Varkalis) lend me his studio on E. Ožeškienės Street in Kaunas while he was abroad.

paskutine taure 20160130 012

Pictures were dispersing in all directions from the galleries that were opening and rapidly closing again in the 1990s leaving no any other trace but my own memories of having painted them. There it was, brought down to the grand sitting room of the estate by its owner, and 22 years later the angel hovering above the chalice was staring at me. I stared right back at it.

paskutine taure 20160130 097

Leave a Reply

