GATHERING OF THE CHURCH OF CROWS

The Church of Crows opened at the Gallery Meno niša (J. Basanavičiaus 1/13, 01118 Vilnius) on October 22, 2014 at 18:00. The exhibition is on show until November 8, 2014, and it can be visited at the Gallery on Tuesdays-Fridays from 12:00 to 18:00 and Saturdays from 12:00 to 16:00.

I remember being asked “Do you want to see the Church of the Crows?” in childhood. If you said “Yes”, then they would put their hands on each side of your head, hold it and lift you up. I could not understand anything.

But now I am thinking that the Church of the Crows is a tree. I am watching them every day, and they watch me too. We are communicating in our way but we do not engage in intimacy. They are like small black limousines glittering in the sun. Or they doze in the fog, or like strict ladies firmly march the pavements. They always keep the distance.

I need them, they do not need me. I need them because it is the third year that I am painting them. I feel I have found the motif that renders my moods. I have found the form for my sadness and longing. Without any sentiments though. And I keep on looking for the colour in the blackness.

Everything started when one spring I heard and saw a crow singing. She was singing one word only, “The Wor-ld”. I suspect she was in love. She would lift her head up and stretch her wings. And I had painted her like that.

I have no doubt today that I will be painting them as long as I am painting.

P.S. You can see them right here.

These two crows opened the ballet in 2008.

Leave a Reply

